Absolutely wacky and weird and warped and wonderful…

…have you seen it? Mad Max: Fury Road? Oh my! What an experience. It has been absolutely ages since I’ve finished a movie with my jaw hanging open and “wow” on repeat in my mind. I can’t stop raving about the sheer brilliance and total wackiness! I’ve never seen any of the Mel Gibson versions but I don’t intend to. I’m going to enjoy this one for what it is – awesome. I don’t want anything to compare it to, I don’t want anything to make me start doubting it, I don’t want anything to change how I feel.

So, where do I begin? Maybe with the fact this this “type” of movie isn’t normally my genre? But then, what is anyone’s “type” in the first place? So, scratch that. OK then, let me start with saying that I didn’t really plan on watching this film (because everyone went on about how rubbish the previous Mad Max movies were and how violent this one is) but intrigue and a natural curiosity around all the “hype” made me give it a shot anyway. And am I glad I did. Yes, I first had to get my mind around the whole style that “is Mad Max” but once that was done I couldn’t get enough. I spent the next day in a trance-like state just savouring and processing what I’d watched the previous night.

I mean, what?…..the “mother’s milk dispensary” (for lack of another description)…huh??? And the guitarist playing them into battle (yes, the drummers too but they weren’t quite the same)…man, I had a good time! Oh…and the “Blood Bag” – totally warped, totally wacked! You might say it is all sick (and yes, it probably is) but let’s just understand something: this is a movie after all and you go into this one knowing it is going to be violent and weird, so, par for the course I’d say. In fact, as violent as it is, I think there are far more gruesome movies out there these days. In general, the little (and big) oddities, wacky characters, events and props presented were just so well done!

Charlize Theron as Furiosa is excellent as usual. Hard as nails yet still a woman with compassion and feeling. Tom Hardy, in the role of Max, is starting to creep onto my “great actors” list as I’ve now watched the third brilliant piece of work he has done (Warrior and Peaky Blinders are the other two) – I never believed a friend of mine who kept saying how great he is until now that I’ve seen it for myself. But, I never, ever expected “that little boy” from About a Boy to have grown up (of course he would have, but I think sometimes we keep these actors in our minds as we saw them in their last movie) and deliver such an amazing performance. Nicholas Hoult has totally blown me away as Nux. The entire acting ensemble, together with all the additional crew required to pull off a production like this can be proud of themselves. Look at all the vehicles, make-up, props, and the list goes on…that is some impressive planning and creativity.

So, for all of you who haven’t watched this work of art, do so! No excuses. No comparison to the old ones (as I’ve heard many of you do). No “it just isn’t my type of movie”. Just watch it. It is an experience of note.

16 comments

  1. I missed Fury Road in the cinema and I’m still kicking myself. No matter, I did pick up the Blu-ray and as someone who spent many years pondering a fourth Mad Max film, even to the point of having unreasonable expectations, Fury Road delivered on all fronts!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I love the earlier Mad Max films, they’re all very different, but enjoyable in their own ways.
        The original Mad Max was my most recent re-watch and after 20+ years I was pleasantly surprised how much I enjoyed it.
        Mad Max 2: The Road Warrior is one of the few sequels I can think of that is even better then the original. It definitely benefits from a bigger budget and its setting in an even bleaker post apocalyptic world.
        Although The Road Warrior is my favourite of this series I do have fond memories of Mad Max Beyond Thunderdome. It’s the weakest film of the trilogy, but a lot of it is actually amazing: Bartertown, Master Blaster, Aunty and “Two men enter, one man leaves!” are all crucial entries in the Mad Max saga. The sets, vehicle and costume design aren’t half bad either. I only wish the “old Mel Gibson” could have reprised the role one more time and brought the story full circle.

        Liked by 1 person

Thoughts anyone?

