Crushing on Will Scarlett and Lucky Luciano

Before I begin, a disclaimer: I hold no responsibility whatsoever for my mush-brain and resulting behaviour as a teenager. Ok…now that we’ve cleared that I hopefully won’t freak you or the actor in question out…

Will Scarlett was my first crush! And I mean B.I.G Crush. Although, technically I may have been two-timing with Lucky Luciano. These men seduced me…unconditionally. But it was more than that. As happens so often with crushes they too influenced this innocent teenager. But in a good way. They got me onto more modern movies. And so, 25 years later I still have an eeny teeny tiny little crush left for these two men…because its not so much the actor but the character being portrayed who you really fall in love with and also because first loves are special. These characters were played by a 22 year old Christian Slater (oh no! I hear the current teenagers say, he’s soooooo old!).

As a young girl we didn’t have a television out of choice and rather experienced the joy of Super 8 movies that had been thrown out by rental stores when Videos came out. Up to that point I looked up to (both literally and figuratively) the likes of Andrew Craig (Paul Newman of The Prize) and Lewt McCanles (Gregory Peck in Duel in the Sun) gracing our white-painted lounge wall on Friday nights. But not really in a crush sort of way. That was all about to change. That fateful day I met Will Scarlett was my father’s doing. He’d had enough of the “old” movies and took us out to the cinema as he was in the mood for a Kevin Costner movie he’d heard about. And so it was that Will changed my world (yes, yes, my father did so but swoon, this is a crush blog after all). You see, by watching Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves (1991) I was introduced to the world of “current” movies and young modern actors whom, quite frankly, given my age I should have been drooling over anyway.

How did I meet him? Quite unexpectedly (always the case, right?) at the movies. Popcorn and cooldrink in hand I settled in with Mom and Dad on either side (how often do you get to meet a hot guy with your parents there?). Then, I was caught off-guard and barely managed to keep up – a trailer with some smooth, sexy man came and went. Hmmm, not bad (casual tone). Huh? Not bad??? Wow…hang on, he was hot! And what do you know…the same man appears in the main feature. A clear case of totally besotted at first sight. Swoon. Blush (I swear my parents could feel the heat pulsing off my cheeks). ChristianSlaterRobinHoodAs is often still the case today, I fell in love with the bad boy supporting character (Only these days I don’t fall in love, I just enjoy those roles more. Ok, ok, so I still like looking but it’s different now). Like a bumbling teenager (which I guess I was) I gazed at the screen waiting for any opportunity to see Will Scarlett, hoping for him to become the hero, yet knowing it could never be. But that’s fine. Less need to share him then. Finally, the credits…ah Christian Slater. I think. You know that typical scenario where you’re trying to find out who that good looking actor is but you’re not really sure what his character’s name was because true as Bob, it was a) never mentioned b) you missed it or c) your eyes can’t keep up with the speed of the credits? I just had to get his number, agh, I meant his name. I was a goner. My Super 8 men just didn’t cut it anymore so I cold-heartedly dumped them. It’s not you, it’s me I told them. And it was me. I so needed to get with the times. The next day was a blur…that head-in-the-clouds-totally-infatuated-dreamy-blur. As tentatively as if he were a real guy at school I asked my friends about Christian Slater not quite managing to say his name though (I am holding my head in my hands, shaking it in shame at this point – teenagers – what is it with the way their brains are wired?). I just wanted to talk about the new man in my (movie) life. Problem was, all my friends were into the guys of Beverly Hills 90210, Brad, Keanu and Richard (remember Richard Grieco?) and weren’t interested in watching Robin Hood and Co. Yet I couldn’t take my mind of Will Scarlett as I kept re-playing his scenes in my head. I mean, who needs to concentrate on math? In hindsight I’m so glad those were the days before easy access to internet for a visual fix of said hunk. I had to wait for the monthly teenage magazine to be released and hope like hell it had a picture of him in it because like my friends, the teenage magazines weren’t into the same guys I was into. Oh, but that was half the fun! Rare things tend to have a more valuable status don’t they?

But…it’s complicated. It always is, isn’t it? Will was a nice guy yet I’d also met Lucky Luciano. I’d caught a glimpse of him during the trailers at the Robin Hood screening remember? I now couldn’t wait for Mobsters to be released (Why is it that movies you wait for have so many release delays? For torture purposes? Or purely to antagonise teenage girls?). Mobsters4_bOooh, he’s the leading man this time round. I was suffering from a double-crush right from the second I laid eyes on Lucky Luciano. While Mobsters wasn’t, and still isn’t, rated as one of the best movies, it had, and still has a special spot for me (I wonder why???). Back then, I even managed to get a huge movie poster from the video store up the road (I went past there every day waiting for them to take it down. Not that anyone wanted it anyway. But they might have thrown it out). Having Lucky Luciano look over me while I slept and did homework was something and I didn’t even notice the other three characters in the poster. I would have cut them out but these poster people didn’t think of me when they took the shot. How inconsiderate. What am I supposed to do with a partial poster? Couldn’t they just have had the important guy on the front and printed the other three on the back?

I’ve now had another look at Will and Lucky pictures and I’m not sure why they were my crush then but they were and served their purpose. It was fun and part of being a teenager. And great to look back on those days with a smile on my face. (Ok, I admit, even today Christian Slater still looks good in said roles – he’s just way too young for me these days)

 

16 comments

  1. Thanks for participating in our blogathon! We’re definitely of an age, and I definitely saw Robin Hood:
    Prince of Thieves as a teenager, even though I don’t like Kevin Costner. I only had eyes for Alan Rickman, though. I’ve never liked younger guys, in real life or on film! But Christian Slater has always been good looking and enigmatic. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

        1. Hmmm….I think there are others for us these days (although, technically Christian Slater has aged with us too I just haven’t watched any of his new stuff). I’m really enjoying Guy Pearce, Karl Urban, Daniel Day-Lewis, Cillian Murphy, Timothy Olyphant and a whole lot of amazing actors these days. But not in a “crush” way like my teenage days (although, I have my moments depending on the role) 😀

          Liked by 1 person

  2. We’re obviously from the same generation because my Reel Infatuation occurred the summer after yours, and I identify with so much of the content of your post.
    I smiled at your memories of movie fandom in the days before the internet. Reading reviews in the Friday editions of the newspapers, and trawling the monthly trade magazines for pictures and snippets of casting information. A joy the youth of today will never know or imagine.
    I may be looking at things through rose tinted glasses, but back then, every new film featuring your favourite stars was an event to anticipate and cherish.
    Like you I saw Robin Hood Prince of Thieves in the cinema, and remember it fondly, although I was probably more taken with Mary Elizabeth than Christian Slater. You’re right that those days were fun, and its great this blogathon can bring us together to share our experiences!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Ha Ha, can I add my crush on erm Kevin Costner here.. had a bit of a crush on him in this for the duration of the film only, but did love Alan Rickman in it and he was fantastic as always. As for too old, my crush for this blogathon was J.R. Ewing! (Approx 3 times my age at time of viewing him for 1st time)

        Liked by 1 person

        1. 😀
          Ah, I have to laugh…us ladies are all the same. Tee hee. I had a crush on Paul Newman but the young one (and everyone told me he’s soooo old). Had that with a few others too. Like the young Gregory Peck….don’t let me get started… 😀

          Liked by 1 person

  3. This is such a fun post. I can totally identify with the teen crush on a handsome movie star. Your vivid descriptions brought it all back.

    I love that your father said “Enough!” with the old movies and took you to a theatre to see a new release.

    I have seen Robin Hood; Prince of Thieves, but I think I was so distracted by Kevin Costner’s non-English accent that I completely overlooked Christian Slater’s performance. I haven’t seen Mobsters – yet. Your post has sold me on it.

    Thanks for joining the blogathon, and for bringing Christian Slater to the party!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your comments! Seems a few of us are in similar crush-age-groups. Just be warned, Mobsters isn’t the best…I really had teenage-heart-throb-glasses on in those days! Thanks again for having me – had so much fun!

      Liked by 1 person

Thoughts anyone?

