Mr. Right…it takes all sorts

Mr. Right (2015). One of those movies that I’m not really sure if it is right…or not. Do I like it? Or not? Well, the fact that I’ve found myself writing about it means it probably isn’t bad. Hmmmm, now that I think about it…it’s actually pretty good. A bit weird…but good weird. So weird the characters even admit they’re weird. And don’t be fooled by the opening that this is going to be a romcom/chick flick (well, the opening after Martha states she’s a T-Rex) – the subtle signs of “strange” are there from the start so trust me, it’s anything but.

MrRight2

Discussing outfits and their meaning…

The fantastic Sam Rockwell stars as Mr. Right. He’s the hitman following his own agenda while evading some guys who hired him but now want to knock him off. Anna Kendrick (I’m starting to enjoy some of her roles) plays Martha the rebound girl who just wants to do something terrible. It goes without saying that the two of them meet in the weirdest of ways (did I say this movie was a bit weird?) and the story unfolds from there. Tim Roth, fitting his role perfectly, likewise has a double agenda and I really enjoyed him in the wedding venue shootout.

After just one viewing of the first date bit that features the song Boom Boom Room by Totsy I find myself replaying the music in my head even a few days later (I definitely need to spend some time discovering this band). Such a “vibey” scene which left me wishing I could be there.  You should watch the facial expressions and the little gestures/interactions of Mr Right and Martha. From the meet cute creepy to the rescue, this offbeat film will have you smiling (yep, thinking back, I had a big grin on my face) at the antics, one-liners and weirdness of the characters involved.

MrRight3

Another discussion going on…

So, all-in-all, pretty darn good actually. I came across this one purely because I felt like watching something but not sure what and ended up selecting at random. As is often the case, they’re the ones that turn out to be quite good. Probably because you have no idea what to expect.

Directed by Paco Cabezas, Mr. Right also stars Anson Mount and a whole lot of actors I think I’ve seen before but struggle to place: James Ransone, RZA (what a great character he plays), Michael Eklund, Jaiden Kaine. Apologies if I’ve missed any important names but truthfully, I know only a handful in this film.

(For another brilliant Sam Rockwell role you absolutely need to give Seven Psychopaths a watch. Even Laggies let me appreciate his abilities)

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

9 comments

  1. I’ve been put off Mr Right by the terrible reviews it received, it just shows you can read too much before you see a film. How could you go wrong with the adorable Anna Kendrick and charismatic Sam Rockwell as a couple?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You know what, give it a shot – you won’t know until you watch it. I watched snippets of it again last night and the more I revisit, the more I enjoy it. Anna and Sam work so well in this one.

      Like

    2. No, I haven’t seen Seven Psychopaths. To be honest I hadn’t even heard of it, I can’t imagine why when I look at the stellar cast.
      I’ve just been doing a little reading and it gets some stellar reviews, and as an added bonus I notice it features Harry Dean Stanton, who has long been one of my favourite character actors.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I was going to say that if you enjoyed Seven Psychopaths you would enjoy Mr Right. (And then, if you enjoy Seven Psychopaths you will probably enjoy In Bruges). But, I think that, given the movies we comment on and like on each others blogs, I suspect you may just enjoy these mentioned ones. If you get around to watching any of them, let me know what you think.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thanks for the recommendations. I will definitely let you know my thoughts, when I get around to watching any of theses films.
          I’ve just been browsing through your archive and as a result realised that I actually have Angel and the Badmen on an unwatched disc of four John Wayne films.
          Another one to add to my growing must-watch list!

          Liked by 1 person

Thoughts anyone?

