A new appreciation for Addicted to Love and those days…

So…there’s a blogger in our midst who is Meg (and Michelle) crazy. I’m sure many of you know who the culprit is. Hmmm…anyway, so just every now and then Addicted to Love is mentioned. In fact, when I started out with this thing called following fellow film fans, one of the first posts I read was about….you’ll never guess….AAddicted To Loveddicted to Love. I’ve been meaning to re-watch it for ages, even before that post (last I saw this one was 12 years ago….cringe….sooooorrrreeeeeeee….I apologise) and today I stumbled across another blog on said blogger’s page but this time around how they don’t make these wonderful screwball comedies the way they used to (I totally agree). A definite sign. And an inspiration. I actually got around to re-watching it today. Having mentioned, a while ago, to this blogger that I was hoping to watch it again, I was asked to be merciful and do the letting down gently if need be…but…here’s the thing: Addicted to Love is just so much fun! In fact, 12 years later I think I enjoy it soooooo much more than I did way back then. Actually, I know that for a fact because I’m an I.T geek and have a database going with all my DVDs and Blu-Rays listed with details such as when I bought them, how much I paid, the actors, number of times watched each year and among other things, my ratings (for the techies out there…yes, yes, I’ve got an ETL process going to load a little star-schema, bridging table, keys and all – couldn’t avoid the many-to-many relationship though). So…I’ll not mention the “medium” rating I originally gave this one (yes, I never thought it was bad, otherwise I wouldn’t own the DVD) but…what was I thinking?????? It definitely deserves better than that. I think as we grow older and are changed by experiences so our appreciation of films changes (for better or worse). But this one…the humour is just…well, screwball? Add the quirky music and you’ve got a superb combination. Granted, there are serious undertones, but overall…so much fun! I think we’re overdue for something like this. Now. In the 2000s. Not a replacement. Something as good. Something with the same magic.

I haven’t seen Meg Ryan films for years. Can’t recall her being in anything recently (last I watched her was in Kate & Leopold). However, I’ve just been reminded of how great and upbeat and just wonderful she was. She brought this natural freshness to her roles. She was great. Remember You’ve got Mail? And Sleepless in Seattle, the hit back in the day? The list goes on…but come to think of it, this is not about Meg Ryan. It’s about those wonderful works of art…there was something special about them…where did they go? Serendipity? Sliding Doors? Someone like You? And where are the Meg Ryans of today? The ones where you can tell your friends that “there’s a new Meg Ryan movie out”…the ones you can depend on?

Serendipity

Thanks Pfeiffer Films and Meg Movies for being inspiring and reminding me of “those” days. I’m on a roll now…just pulled out You’ve Got Mail with Sliding Doors waiting. Serendipity sounds good too. Thank goodness for the weekend!

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

4 comments

  1. I’m typing this with a smile on my face. I’m so happy to read this, even happier you enjoyed Addicted to Love. Thanks for sharing my infatuation.
    For a long time I was ashamed to admit how much I liked the film. Then for a while I chose to call it a guilty pleasure but that wasn’t accurate either. “Addicted to Love” is and always will be – one of my favourite movies. Maybe Meg Ryan’s Maggie is insane. Fine. But I’m not going to deny my feelings for her. She’ll always be the most beautiful woman in my dreams.
    Enjoy your weekend, you’ve already made mine!

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts anyone?

