Against the Crowd – ratings don’t mean a thing

AgainsttheCrowdBlogathon

Movie ratings mean absolutely nothing – I either like or dislike what I’ve seen (and isn’t that what it’s all about anyway?). Yet, I’m guilty of checking on IMDB or Rotten Tomatoes and I’m often amazed at the ratings some movies get which are in total contrast to what I would have thought. Here are two movies that fit either end of the spectrum. I’m keeping them within a similar-ish genre for this Against the Crowd Blogathon which asked for two movies – one that you loved but “everyone” hated and vice versa – one that “everyone” loved and you hated. Or…disliked, rather.

Before Midnight (2013)…oh, if only it had been as special as Before Sunrise (1995) and Before Sunset (2004). I had hoped for the last part of this clever trilogy to be a satisfying movie that rounded off the previous two nicely. While the ratings for this one were high, I just failed to see the fun in watching a married couple (or any couple for that matter) bickering, arguing and snapping at each other for almost 2 hours. Personally, I want a positive (doesn’t need to be happy) experience and quite frankly, I don’t care about watching domestic disputes for the sake of cashing in creating a trilogy. “That’s reality” you might argue…yes…fine…but I want to watch movies for escapism! Of course not the entire movie is like this but that’s all I can remember and hence my overall impression. Maybe I just missed the plot…

I wish I hadn’t watched this one as it has pretty much spoilt the other two for me.  What a pity. BeforeMidnightRating

On to one of my favourites that I know hasn’t ever been that popular. Catch and Release (2006). This is one of those movies that moves me and I find myself watching at least once a year. I just like it. While IMDB currently rates it at a 6.0, the Tomatometer on Rotten Tomatoes gives it a really splattering 21%. Its sweet and feel-good and just what I need for a bit of romantic escapism. Yes, it may have flaws (don’t all movies?) but who cares? I enjoy Gray’s story of discovering who her fiancé really was and in the process finding herself and love. While you may say I have blinkers on and that real-life is never like this…I know…but that’s why I watch movies.

 

CatchandRelease

Some others that “everyone” loved and I totally disliked: No Country for old Men, The Sixth Sense, Titanic, the first Harry Potter (I never went back for any subsequent ones), Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World, Drive.

Some of the ones I enjoyed and nobody else seemed to (promise you won’t judge me): Northmen: A Viking Saga, The Romantics, The Truth About Charlie, New in Town, Brick Mansions, Priest.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

15 comments

  1. Thanks for the much-appreciated follow of my blog. I haven’t seen any of these films (and probably never will) but I agree about critics. They are fickle and often spiteful. I watch what I want, and either like it, or don’t.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Absolutely! I neeeever listen to them – let’s be honest, we all have different tastes so how would a critic ever know what we like! As you said too, either I like it or I don’t! Have an awesome day further!

      Like

  2. I haven’t either of these movies but I’ve always wanted to watch Before Midnight because its premise really interested me. Now that there’s three I’ll have to catch a marathon one day. I’ve always wondered why Jennifer Garner is a bigger film star, she has this warm charm that I love and I’ll be happy to watch any movie she’s in (unless it’s Elektra).

    Thanks for adding your voice
    KG

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m a fan of the Before films, but Before Midnight left me feeling sad and doubting that love can really last or not. So I can totally understand why it’s your hate film for this list!

    Now Catch and Release certainly sounds familiar and I am sure I enjoyed it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I can’t say anything about Before Midnight because I hated everything about the first in the trilogy Before Sunrise which most people loved. I thought the two lead characters were mopey annoyances, it didn’t help that they were played by two actors I can’t stand, so the thought of watching two other films with the same people had zero appeal.

    While I didn’t think Catch and Release was anything special I did think it was a nice unsurprising rom-com. So much of the success of that kind of film relies on its principal players and Jennifer Garner has a warm easy presence and it was she more than anything else who put the movie over.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Like Wendell I haven’t seen any of the “Before” movies either. As for Catch and Release, I’ve never even heard of it, but I value your judgement, it’s easier to surrender to the power of some films more than others.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I still haven’t seen any of the “Before” movies. Gonna have to make a marathon of it one of these days. Not sure I’ve heard of Catch and Release, but it sounds quite interesting. Thanks so much for participating!

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts anyone?

