In a Nutshell: The Abduction Club (2002)

What a sweet little movie I’ve just watched. Fun, light and exactly what I needed. The Abduction Club is a club of young noblemen who are unfortunate to be second (or more) born and therefore not entitled to inherit their parents’ estate – that honour goes to the the first born. In order to avoid becoming priests or soldiers, they meet heiresses, abduct them and convince the ladies to marry. Byrne and Strang, two of these abductors, get more than they bargained for when they kidnap sisters Catharine and Anne.

I watched pretty much the whole thing with a smile on my face (except for one or two parts) and thoroughly enjoyed it. Good, light entertainment that is perfect for rounding off a long day. Don’t take it too seriously. Just sit back and enjoy the escapism.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

9 comments

  1. Catherine’s abduction and the dual marriage proposals scenes are a scream. I love the way Strang keeps shooting a bullet into the ceiling of every place they abduct someone from.
    Have you seen Plunkett & Macleane? The Abduction Club reminded me of it a lot. The romance is perhaps not quite as front and centre in Plunkett & Macleane, though it is certainly there and important, but the performances of Robert Carlyle and Jonny Lee Miller are spot on, with Alan Cumming having a really fun supporting role.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve only caught snippets of Plunkett & Macleane but never the full movie. I’ll definitely give it a go now – thanks for pointing me in that direction. I always enjoy Alan Cumming’s slightly (sometimes very) eccentric roles so I can just imagine what he’s like in Plunkett. I just had such a ball watching Abduction Club with all their “antics”…Strang is quite a character, well both of them really.

      Like

    2. Ooooooh (rubbing hands in glee goes here) Plunkett & Macleane looks so awesome! I’ve just watched the trailer. Can’t wait! Can’t wait! In fact, I’m trying to get my little paws on it as we speak, ah, type…Thanks for this recommendation.

      Liked by 1 person

    3. Guess what????? I watched it! Plunkett & Macleane. Oh wow! It was just brilliant. And, I realised I had never seen snippets of it as I’d thought – I must have confused it with something else (although, I was absolutely convinced and waiting for those scenes). I had a big grin on my face pretty much all the time (except near the end of course). Definitely one I’m going to track down for my DVD collection – that says a lot! Whoohoooo!

      Like

      1. Oops – sorry Vinnie…I had a moment there – thought you were referring to Plunkett & Macleane. I watched Plunkett last night. Abduction Club I’d watched a while ago now – also loads of fun. I was just so excited about Plunkett… 😉

        Like

Thoughts anyone?

