Absolutely Magical – Cirque du Soleil: Worlds Away

Cirque du Soleil. Something so magically special. I was hooked when I had the good fortune of seeing O in Las Vegas a number of years back. I loved every moment of this spectacular show and in some way wished it would never end. I did the “touristy” thing and tried to find a DVD but there were only other shows available. Besides, nothing could capture the same atmosphere and feeling as the live show. Until now…

Cirque du Soleil: Worlds Away (2012) is absolutely amazing and for me, is as good as watching O in person. While it is not the entire O show, it presents those snippets that I fell in love with. But, it is so much more. It takes a very simple story line and weaves it between various 2011 Las Vegas Cirque du Soleil shows (O, Viva Elvis, The Beatles LOVE, Mystère, Zumanity, Criss Angel Believe and ). The movie starts in the “real world” where Mia (Erica Linz) strolls into a carnival/fun-fair and is persuaded by a clown to enter the circus tent. Watching (and entranced) by The Aerialist (Igor Zaripov) he likewise notices her and falls during his act. But he disappears through this wonderful funnel of sand and sawdust that the circus floor has transformed into. Mia rushes to catch him but follows him down finding herself in a magical Cirque du Soleil realm. So starts her journey to find The Aerialist with only circus flyer in hand and the help of Ringmaster (Lutz Halbhubner, who is such a brilliant character with the most amazing facial nuances).

Throughout the movie we keep seeing The Aerialist and wish Mia could just find him yet hoping she won’t because it means more time to watch the weaving together of these different shows. She encounters all sorts of characters (as does he) and the story comes alive with wonderful music, dance, acrobatics and not a single word spoken.

Do yourself a favour, give this one a watch (in either the 3D or 2D version). I must say, with a big screen and the volume turned up, the 3D version makes it all come so much more alive (as much as I’m not a fan of those 3D glasses). Although, I often find myself putting the 2D disc into my player just to watch snippets here and there. My favourite being the O aerial ship scene.

Cirque du Soleil: Worlds Away is written and directed by Andrew Adamson (known for some of the Shrek and Chronicles of Narnia movies). The various shows were filmed at the Las Vegas venues where they were staged in 2011 with the actual show cast members appearing in the movie (obviously).

Enjoy!

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

20 comments

  1. Cirque du Soliel is truly magical, I love that you brought an actual circus to this event. Thank you for such a lovely review, I hate 3D films, but I have a feeling this is worth the headache, their performances are awe-inspiring and you truly captured the magic in your post! Thank you for such a lovely contribution to #AtTheCircus!

    Like

  2. Awesome article and very original choice! It sounds like a beautiful film. I’m from Quebec where the Cirque du Soleil was born, but I never saw one of their show! I would love to see Love. I’ve listen to the soundtrack so often ahah. I remember a long time ago, when I was like 8, I saw a Cirque du Soleil film and, if I’m not wrong it was Alegria, the Movie, based on the show of the same name. Of course we all know the song!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for the compliments – greatly appreciated (you’ve made my day). I’d also like to see Love (or any other show) but I must say O was quite special because it was largely based in water (hence the O). A touring show came down to our part of the world a few years ago but it just wasn’t the same as the more “permanent” productions. But was still lovely.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ya know, I’ve never seen Cirque du Soleil, though I’ve course heard about it. I didn’t know there was a film of their performance. I might give this a try – who knows, I might end up seeing them live next time their down under!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. wow! Sounds like a wonderful film / show. I have never seen a Cirque de Soleil, even when I was touring in Vegas 2 years ago, and it’s such a shame. My friend used to (or still) works in the costume and set department. Love how you loved it and perfectly captured it on your post 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts anyone?

