Girl Week: Selene (Underworld (2003))

selene_girlweek

I really thought I’d entered enough Blogathons for the year and then Girl Week 2016 just had to catch my eye didn’t it  😉 ??? Well…I just couldn’t resist. Here’s a little something different from me (well, some of you may think so anyway*).

Coming to mind is Selene (appropriately meaning Moon in Greek) from the Underworld movies. She’s a Death Dealer i.e. she goes out hunting down the Lycans (Werewolves) in the centuries old battle between the species. And she does it with a vengeance. There’s a personal motivation behind all of this but I won’t spoil it for those who possibly, maybe, one day, might just watch it. In addition, the Lycans have caught her attention with a human they are tracking and naturally, she sets out to find the reason behind this. What follows is action, deceit and more action.

Selene, perfectly played by Kate Beckinsale is tough, humane (not human), well spoken and knows exactly what she wants. She’d rather be out in full action while the rest of the coven are leading a life of leisure and dinner parties with Kraven (Shane Brolly) at the helm. She has no problem barging through these dinners gun in hand, coat billowing out behind her. It would be quite easy for her to be at Kraven‘s side (supposedly where she belongs) but she doesn’t let up on her goals just because he is powerful and commands it. Following her hunches she goes to some desperate extremes. Make no mistake, she has a soft spot, managing to shed a tear or two along the way. Never mind the fact that she comes to the rescue of “her human” Michael (Scott Speedman). Oh, did I mention that she has this amazing ability to jump off buildings so elegantly barely hesitating on the perfect landing before moving off?

Directed by Len Wiseman, this fun movie also stars Bill Nighy, Michael Sheen and Sophia Myles amongst others.

selene_underworld2

*I recently mention to a fellow blogger that Underworld is my guilty pleasure and I was so excited that his comment back went something along the lines that he would never have thought that of me. Oooh, he made my day.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

4 comments

  1. Not a guilty pleasure for me. I unabashedly love this movie. And Selene is a fantastic character. I totally agree that Beckinsale just perfect in the role. We can talk about this movie all day long. On the other hand, the less said about the sequels, the better. Ugh.

    Thanks for joining! I really appreciate this post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m more than a little partial to the strutting and ass-kicking of Kate Beckinsale. Watching her stride in her chic trench coat, you realise no other vampire will have ever have this much style!

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts anyone?

