All About…First Impressions of…Eve

I’m going to say this very softly so nobody hears me but….*whisper* I’ve never seen All About Eve….in fact, I’d never even heard of it (yes! that’s totally and utterly unacceptable, I know, I know) until last year’s Bette Davis Blogathon. And…to make things worse, almost a year is over and I still haven’t watched it…but…all that is about to change…I’ll be back a little later…

…ok, me again…not a little later…still now. I just want to get my thoughts down on what awaits me first. From the bits and pieces I’ve read from other bloggers, it must be brilliant. Wow, IMDB gives it 8.3/10, puts it down as number 112 of the 250 top rated movies (as at today), and I see it even won 6 Oscars (and there are a whole lot of other “stats”). I hope my expectations aren’t too high. I hate disappointment. To be honest, and don’t shoot me down just yet, the story line that IMDB gives wouldn’t normally attract me to this one. It almost comes across a bit dull (you’re probably thinking “How could she????” or “oh just you wait”) but, let me to go see what the hype is all about before I dig myself into a deeper hole. See you later…

.

.

.

…now that I’ve finally watched it, what are my thoughts?

Oh…ok…hmmm…Bette Davis wasn’t Eve as I’d automatically assumed. In fact, the opening scene (at the awards presentation) also had me convinced Bette Davis was Eve…initially, that is. When it turned out I was totally wrong, I knew that this was going to be a good one.

And wow…the superb acting. I was totally blown away by Bette Davis. I think I’m an instant fan. Definitely going to watch some more of her works (any suggestions for my second Bette Davis movie?). In fact, the entire cast was fantastic. But Ms Davis had this special screen presence about her. And that worked so well for her role, you know, the one about stage presence?

With an excellent story, this classic was well worth watching (and about time I did so). I kept thinking how clever some scenes, dialogue lines, angles etc. were. Really fantastic film-making which requires at least another watch, not only to process it again, but for the experience.

So, to In the Good Old Days of Classic Hollywood I thank you for having introduced me to Bette Davis. I’m so glad I signed up last year with my “She’s Got Bette Davis Eyes” post and that you tempted me to join again this year with my All About Eve bit. I would never have watched this movie if it wasn’t for you (and all the other All About Eve fans out there)

My last year’s post “She’s Got Bette Davis Eyes” can be found here.

Save

32 comments

    1. Thank you so much for your wonderful compliment. And, more importantly, thank you for having me in your Blogathon. No problem at all about the late reply – there is no pressure at all – as and when the mood strikes 🙂

      Like

  1. Expectarions can’t be too high with All About Eve… and I’m both happy and relieved that you liked it. I suggest Whatever Happened to Baby Jane and Jezebel for your second and third movies with Bette. Oh, and you should make more of first impressions posts!
    Cheers!
    Le

    Liked by 1 person

  2. One of my favourite films. That scintillating and acerbic dialogue is splendid and given power by the stars. Bette Davis was outstanding as the aging Margo, still hanging on to her crown as the manipulative upstart of Eve tried to nab it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m glad you finally saw it. It’s the first classic Bette Davis movie I remember seeing as a child. Funny, I too thought that she was Eve before the film began. I watched it with my grandmother… she didn’t utter a word, just watched it with me as if it were the first time she’d seen it. Of course, it wasn’t. LOL Bette was a dynamo!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am so glad that you loved this film! I am actually writing about it an upcoming “Movie Quotes” blogathon 🙂 Such a classic. So much DRAMA DRAMA DRAMA.

    I am going to make an Anne Baxter recommendation. She won Best Supporting Actress for The Razor’s Edge (1946). It is such a sublime film. Also with Ms. Davis, I have to mention Whatever Happened to Baby Jane? – a 1962 psychological horror film with Joan Crawford. I am not sure if you have heard, but there is a new TV series called “Feud: Bette and Joan” that chronicles their feud, and part of the series focuses on the making of that film.

    I could talk all day about Bette Davis haha. Happy movie watching!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oooh, thanks. Will look out for Anne Baxter – as mentioned, I enjoyed her in Yellow Sky (and now All About Eve). Will look for the series too. I’ve got lots to watch – thanks for the recommendations. Have a lovely weekend.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi there. So glad you enjoyed All About Eve. Bette gives such a powerful performance, but the entire cast are all at their best. I especially love George Sanders. Check Bette out in The Little Foxes, Mr. Skeffington, Now Voyager and The Bride Came C.O.D. If you want more of Anne Baxter’s work, check her out in The Ten Commandments and A Ticket to Tomahawk. Maddy

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Bette Davis does have a special presence, doesn’t she? I’m so glad you liked this one, and there’s so much to like about it! I love, LOVE, George Sanders here and Anne Baxter is a really good fit. (The only thing I don’t like is Thelma Ritter’s limited screen time.)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I love All About Eve. Every line, performance, just every element of it is on the money, but wow Bette Davis is doing something well beyond greatness here. She moves a 10 to an 11, which is hard when you’re surrounded by all those unhappy bunnies.
    It’s an ensemble that ends up feeling like a one woman show. That’s how powerful Davis is. She gives one of the greatest performances in cinema history and it’s unbelievable that one of her Oscars wasn’t for this iconic role.

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts anyone?

