Tissues and Tears with a Walk to Remember

What list of tearjerker movies would be complete without a Nicholas Sparks adaptation? OK, OK…give me a chance here…I know not everyone likes the multitude of books-turned-movies….however, I must admit there are some that aren’t bad. But, there is only one that I really find good, very good…and one that has me watching through tears every single time. A Walk to Remember (2002).

The story seems very clichΓ©…bad boy falls in love with good girl…but so what? It’s the emotional experience that counts. The fact that you end up caring so much for these two characters thatΒ  you cry! And, for the readers amongst you, the book achieves the same…I remember reading from beginning to end one night and going to bed in the early hours of the morning with bloodshot eyes from crying. I barely managed to see the last few chapters so teary-eyed was I. Three guesses as to what I looked like the next morning…

tearjerker7

The story is very simple yet sweet. Due to some silly teenage initiation/prank gone wrong, Landon Carter (Shane West), the school’s bad boy and cool dude is forced to join the drama club, give extra lessons and other community services rather than get expelled from the school. Jamie Sullivan (Mandy Moore), the school’s good girl who doesn’t care that she gets teased, is voluntarily and happily part of these extra-curricular activities. Through these circumstances, Landon is forced to set aside his pride (or arrogance) and interact with Jamie. Gradually, his preconceived ideas and perceptions of her start changing and he becomes a more likeable guy by being around a positive influence. Of course our two characters are jinxed when she says “You have to promise you won’t fall in love with me” when Landon asks her for help. His arrogant reply is “That’s not a problem”…but need I go further with this? Of course they will! And how lovely their love is. It is so tender and sweet. Genuine. Heart-breaking. Beautiful. True. I get all emotional just thinking of some of the beautiful scenes and dialogue they share. My favourite being one where he is there to “catch” her as his former cool friends play a nasty joke on her.

These two people are perfect for each other. Each one having a profound and everlasting effect on the other, present and future.

So, if you want a good cry…put your judgement of Nicholas Sparks adaptions away and give this one a go.

Save

29 comments

  1. I’ve never read a Nicholas Sparks novel or seen a movie version of his work. Maybe I need to give this a chance! Like Patricia says, I await the proper mood… πŸ™‚

    Thanks so much for contributing to the blogathon!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hope you enjoy the books or the movies when the mood does strike. I must admit, they are a bit “hit and miss” – some are good, others horrid. You’ll need to chance it. Avoid “The Best of Me” though – you’ll give up on Mr Sparks straight away.

      Like

      1. Well thank you! I’m in that wonderful stage now where I don’t quite look pregnant but I’ve clearly put on more than a few pounds, cue all the ‘you’ve put on weight’ comments! Ah, pregnancy is wonderful πŸ˜›

        Like

  2. I’ve only seen part of this film, but I do remember thinking Many Moore is utterly charming in this role. You’ve persuaded me to go back and watch it all the way through…with tissues handy, this time! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts anyone?

