First Impressions of…Spellbound

I’ve been anticipating Spellbound (1945) for quite a while now pretty much for Gregory Peck but also because I’ve been wanting to see who Ingrid Bergman is (soooorrrrryyy if you are in shock that I’d never seen her. And yes, that means I’ve haven’t seen Casablanca either but that will change soon). You’ll most likely be shocked to know that I’ve never seen an Alfred Hitchcock movie either. Shaking your head in disbelief?

I’ve rectified all that as of yesterday evening.

For those of you who don’t know the story, here you go: Dr Constance Petersen (Ingrid Bergman) is a psychiatrist who falls in love with the new Doctor “Dr Edwards” (Gregory Peck). However, she soon learns that things are not what they seem and that the new doctor is actually an amnesiac imposter who has periodic “attacks” triggered by certain visual cues. Determined to get to the bottom of this and convinced that he is not a murderer or dangerous, she risks her career and safety until the truth comes out.

So, what are my first impressions? Well, I thoroughly enjoyed the movie. Not sure what I was expecting but, as is usually the case, not this. I think I may have expected this high-tension thriller with (subconsciously) some birds thrown in together with some screaming shower scene. Instead, I got a suspense movie that had just enough tension and a great story (including some romance). Despite anticipating the ending, or at least, the outcome, it wasn’t all that obvious and I was kept wondering the whole way through as to how it would unravel.

I’m biased when it comes to Gregory Peck whom I always enjoy watching, but I really like/d Ingrid Bergman. Can’t believe I’d never watched her before. I’m going to give more of her roles a go and definitely more Alfred Hitchcock too.

Nominated for 6 Oscars, the only win went to Miklós Rózsa for Best Music, Scoring of a Dramatic or Comedy Picture. This is definitely deserving because the music was actually one thing that stood out for me while watching. Yes, it built up tension (as it usually does), but it was also a comfort mechanism for me because it noticeably preempted the upcoming scenes. This meant I could relax a bit, knowing this wasn’t the end of Constance.

A great movie. Definitely one I’ll watch again.

Save

Save

Save

Save

17 comments

  1. I’m glad you decided to do more first impressions posts!
    Well, we all must start somewhere with Hitchcock – I frnakly don’t remember which was my first, maybe it was Strangers on a Train, but I’m not sure.
    Speelbound is a very good movie, especially for Ingrid and Gregory. The dream sequence was put together by Salvador Dalí, and this adds a lot to the movie.
    Kisses!
    Le

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You’re first Hitchcock? Wow I’m envious, you have so much good stuff still to look forward to. Much like Maddy this isn’t one of my favourites, but then Hitch set such high standards.
    This film is loaded with visual metaphors. Constance’s drawing of the “pool” gets it going and it doesn’t stop from there. Love all the pseudo-Freudian stuff. Love the mystery. Love the Dali dream sequence. Love the silly skiing scene. In fact It all works for me.

    Like

  3. Excellent post! I will review this film for this month’s Medicine in the Movies Blogathon, and I cannot wait. It is a very good film, and I share your admiration for Gregory Peck. My only criticism of this film is that I don’t think Peck was pulling his weight in this film, a lot of work actually fell to Bergman. I also understand how The Lost Weekend won at the Academy over this film, but Hitchcock is Hitchcock, and this film is still super-suspenseful and good!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, agree with Peck not pulling his weight. At some points he does come across as just saying his lines.
      Looking forward to your review in the upcoming Blogathon. I’m tackling Doc Holliday in Tombstone. See you then 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Welcome to the Ingrid Bergman and Alfred Hitchcock fan club. Spellbound is not one of my favourite films from Hitchcock. It has it’s moments though, and Ingrid and Gregory are very good. If you are after more Ingrid Bergman recommendations check her out in the following: Notorious(another Hitchcock film),The Bells of St.Mary’s, Stromboli, For Whom the Bell Tolls, A Woman Called Golda, Intermezzo.

    Liked by 2 people

Thoughts anyone?

