The Lake House (2 Reel Quirky Cats (P)reviews No 2)

(A Random Trailer (P)review)

My guilty pleasure selection for our 2 Reel Quirky Cats collaboration is The Lake House (2006). With so many choices, it was realweegiemidget‘s guilty pleasure Point Break (1991) that reminded me of Keanu Reeves and voila! my selection:

The Lake House has Sandra Bullock and Keanu Reeves both living in a lake house 2 years apart yet at the same time (if that makes sense). They discover a method of communicating by means of letters left in the postbox. Gradually they fall in love despite the time gap.

Tagline: What if you found the one you were meant for… but you lived 2 years apart?

I’d originally found out about this one from my mother who out of the blue (and to my surprise) had a conversation with me along the lines of “There’s a movie coming out I want to watch. Will you come along?”, “Oh, ok? Which one? You don’t normally know what is showing”, “Keanu Reeves is in it. I like him”…well, I never…

Despite having watched this movie a number of times, this is the first time I’ve actually seen the trailer. It has been cut together really beautifully and gives a good idea as to what the story is about but, thank goodness, without giving away anything (or too much). What it does do, is give me the shivers (the good ones) because I love watching the snippets showing the communication between the two and their relationship forming. And all in an “unrushed” pace, taking its time. Who wouldn’t be curious as to how a love with a time gap could feel more real than one experienced in the same time sphere? How will this all turn out? When you finally get to watching it in full, it will be just as lovely.

In fact, when I’ve finished writing up this post, I’m going to pull out the DVD for a watch. I’ve been tempted 😉 Perfect winter watching (yes, it is just about winter here) with a cup of hot chocolate.

Despite the many criticisms and potential plot holes (which I don’t look out for), I love this movie purely for the tale. Not being a fan of time-travel movies, this one was different. Enjoyable. Sandra Bullock and Keanu Reeves once again work well together and I almost enjoy them more here than in Speed. I’ve just read that the dog Jack was named after Keanu‘s character in Speed in honour of the two leads. How true this is, I don’t know. But hey…sounds fun. Oh, and the music is courtesy of Rachel Portman who always gives us wonderful soundtracks.

realweegiemidget has her thoughts on this one here. If you’re up to adding your few tweets’ worth then head over to @2ReelQuirkyCats on Twitter.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

4 comments

    1. Oh, it does…I promise. It is a beautiful movie filled with magic in such a special way.
      I too love the magic of letters and writing – I write by hand as much as I can and still use a real physical paper diary to write for the pure joy of writing things down.

      Like

Thoughts anyone?

