Escape to Victory (2 Reel Quirky Cats July (P)review)

(A Random Trailer (P)review)

Escape_to_Victory_FullPoster

I’d never heard of this one before (oh, how I love the world of blogging…so many movies to keep that To Watch list growing by about 10 for every 1 I manage to watch. Yes…I’m looking at you Realweegiemidget, amongst others).

And wow…Sylvester Stallone was that young? Michael Caine too (the voice has never changed…recognisable anywhere of course). And Max von Sydow.

So, here’s the trailer for Escape to Victory (1981) aka Victory:

“Well you must realise, it’s my busy time. Everybody wants to escape in the good weather”. Perfect hook – it got me right away. Sets the scene perfectly and with no further convincing I going to watch this one.

The story? From what I can make out, a group of POWs want to escape (who doesn’t?) and their planned way out is through a most unexpected manner – a soccer match against the Germans. I’m guessing that because it is meant to be a propaganda show in favour of the Germans there’s no way this will be the case. I’ll have to watch and find out though…

Another trailer that appears to do a great job of not giving away the good parts or the whole story – so I hope. It leaves me wanting to find out exactly how this is all going to go down. As for Stallone, I’d forgotten about his looks back in the Rocky days. I quite enjoy the role he has in Escape to Victory (from the snippets that are shown). I’m hoping this is the case. I did do a little reading and discovered that a whole lot of professional and semi-professional soccer players feature too. I’ve also read that Kevin Beattie “plays” Michael Caine‘s legs because of the latter struggling to run.

cropped-cat2Realweegiemidget has watched this one so head over to her place here for a more comprehensive review. We’ll be on Twitter for a chit-chat later today too (@2ReelQuirkyCats).

Oh…I nearly forgot…it is a new theme so we have a new poll…here you go – vote for the one we should review next:

Save

6 comments

Thoughts anyone?

