Double Duo…Paul Newman & Robert Redford

IMG_20170803_104349Double…because I’m looking at two movies in particular.

Duo…because this duo featured in the “Double” from above.

Yes, Paul Newman and Robert Redford starred in two movies together (as a duo).

And that’s what The Flapper Dame and Phyllis Loves Classic Movies offer us in their latest Blogathon…two actors who made two movies together.

I was introduced to this pair in the wonderful The Sting (here). They had this natural rapport that seemed to translate from their personal connection to the screen. Well, so I think. Two people who don’t get along surely can’t portray such on screen…although, I guess they are actors. (I’ve just read that they really did get along well…this definitely shows).

Anyway…moving along…to The Sting (1973). This superb con-artist classic had me hooked on both actors from the word Go. It was (is) simply wonderful. We have Henry Gondorff (Newman) “mentoring” small-time conman Johnny Hooker (Redford) and together they set up this intricate and utterly convincing scam in the name of revenge. To watch it all  unfold is sheer pleasure and I still fall for the con each and every time I watch it. Well, almost.

True to my nature, I immediately had to see if they’d done any additional work together. So I came across Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid (1969) (well, I’d heard of it but way back as a youngster hadn’t taken much notice of it). And wow, here again, they work so well together as two bank robbers on the run. Interesting is that I believe this is where they initially met. The founding of their friendship that would last a lifetime (I do stand to be corrected).

Just look at this handsome duo above. There’s friendship shown in both of the sets of roles. Together with this cheekiness that comes through so naturally. Like they’re not even trying. They’re just being themselves. Now that always makes for great viewing. If you haven’t seen this duo in action, I suggest you give these two movies a go.

10 comments

  1. I saw Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid for the first time last year and was mad at myself for not watching it sooner! I absolutely loved it! Their on-screen chemistry in this movie reminded me of George Clooney and Brad Pitt in the Ocean’s movies, which I also love. I still haven’t seen The Sting yet. I need to get on that!

    I recently watched a documentary on Amazon Prime about the racing life of Paul Newman. Redford was interviewed for it and he had some great stories of pranks they’ve pulled on each other over the years. I highly recommend it if you get a chance.

    Thanks so much for participating in the blogathon with one of my favorite duos!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a duo! One of favourites for sure. I love them so much in both films they made together. Of the two films The Sting is my favourite. I love the mentor/pupil, surrogate father/son relationship their characters have in that. I wish these two had worked together more often.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dear Catherine,

    This is a really interesting article. Although I never watch films from the 1970s, I enjoyed reading your article about these two movies because I can tell how much you like them.

    By the way, how are you? We are nearing October, so I wanted to know if you have made a decision about participating in my blogathon yet. If you need any suggestions for a topic, I would be happy to give you some. I look forward to hearing from you soon!

    Yours Hopefully,

    Tiffany Brannan

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Tiffany, thanks for your wonderful message. I really enjoy both the actors and the movies. The Sting is my favourite of the two though.
      With regards to your Blogathon I’m going to have to gently let you down…I’m barely managing to touch sides with everything going on never mind the Blogathons I’ve committed to already and haven’t watched a movie for months. Hopefully I’ll join your next Blogathon.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Dear Catherine,

        I understand. Things can get very busy, and I don’t want you to agree to do more than you can right now. I will certainly think of you when I host another blogathon. I appreciate your politeness and the support which you have given me.

        Yours Hopefully,

        Tiffany Brannan

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I think these two guys are handsome and yes like you said-
    without trying- even today Mr Redford says the most fun he ever had on set was in Butch Cassidy!! Its to bad they never made a third!

    Personally I like the Sting a tad better than Butch- it must be because its kind of old time-y- and I love the Music!

    Thank you for writing and choosing this blogathon!! Emily- The Flapper Dame

    Like

Thoughts anyone?

