Edge of Tomorrow (2 Reel Quirky Cats September (P)review)

(A Random Trailer (P)review)

EdgeofTomorrowCurtain

I really need to stop saying “I don’t really watch Sci-Fi movies” because I’m finding more and more that I enjoy. This is another one that I watched for lack of anything else to watch and ended up enjoying it.

I haven’t watched the trailer…so let me go do that before Realweegiemidget Reviews tells me to focus on the topic at hand 😉 I’m already treading on thin ice because yet again my poll selection won for the time travel theme this month.

Ok…trailer watched…

“For me, it’s been an eternity”…that’s exactly the point you need to understand from the trailer. It really has been an eternity for Tom CruiseCage as he finds himself in an endless cycle of repetitions. Endless Reset buttons…

Don’t be put off by the outlandish creatures faced on combat or think this is totally absurd (I mean yes, the trailer makes it look that). Rather, ignore that aspect and focus on Emily Blunt and Tom Cruise in the trailer. You’ll find yourself quite curious. What does she mean by wanting to start over. Or “come visit me when you wake up”. It all becomes clear.

Basically, we have a type of time travel movie where the characters find themselves in the same spot over and over yet with slightly different knowledge this being able to change the outcome of that same situation. It is really cleverly done. The only “negative” is that there could have been a more elegant closure of this cycle…to be honest, I got the impression that no matter how brilliant the concept was…there was no way out…but don’t let that put you off. It is fantastic and the trailer doesn’t do the movie full justice.

So…don’t delay. Go give it a watch!

cropped-cat2As always, head on over to Realweegiemidget Reviews (here) for her take on this trailer and then join us on Twitter (@2ReelQuirkyCats) for your comments. See you there…

3 comments

Thoughts anyone?

